Error during login Invalid credentials

This is a general support ticket template.
Please fill in as much detail as possible.

Before Posting:

Java 8 is required to run our modpack. Not having it will cause you to crash on launch.
Mac OS, Windows, and Linux users can download the Java 8 installer for their system from here.

what operating system are you using?: Windows
how did you install the modpack?: Launcher
have you installed Java 8?: yes
*when does the problem happen? connecting to the server
logs/crash-report: post a pastebin or gist url here
problem:
Error during login Invalid credentials.

Complete newbie to Minecraft/Ardacraft, and basically only bought it this morning to get on your server. It was the Java edition. I made a new account on the Minecraft site, I wasn’t given the opportunity to open a Mojang account so had to use a Microsoft name and password. Downloaded your launcher but every time I try to sign in I get the Invalid credentials message.
Any ideas how I can fix this? Does it take some time to authorise? I literally registered with Minecraft and ten minutes later tried to get on here.
Any help much appreciated (sorry if asked before).

Try to wait for a bit and log in later.
If the issue still occurs you could try to change your password.

Thanks for the reply.
I’ve just changed my password with Microsoft (I’ve never had a Mojang password) which works fine getting me into Minecraft itself, but again when I try and log in to Ardacraft I get the error message. Just for info the copy I bought is legit, bought through Mojang via Amazon. I’m in the UK (not that I suppose it matters) not using VPN or anything.
Thanks again

Is the username you are using your email you are using for you Microsoft account?

Another question is what version of Minecraft did you buy? We use the Java edition, if you bought the Windows 10 edition that will not let you login.

Have you tried the default Minecraft launcher?