Arnor Ruins Guide

As the resident classicist, I have some experience in analysing ruins from the ancient and medieval world. Thus, I do have some authority when it comes to helping out on the building of ruins in this server, especially for arnor. As always, the visual guide is at /warp ArnorGuide

Firstly, I must stress that taking inspiration from standing ruins now is fine, but you must remember that these ruins are excavated and have been preserved and maintained for at least 200 years. In the case of Rome and Athens it is the continued existence of people in these cities that has really prevented the ruins from collapsing and disappearing further. However, what we do have is still ruins and many of the things I will say will apply to both them and the ruins you need to be able to make.

So, without further ado, I will now go on a lengthy guide as to how ruins should be done.

Planning

If you are leading an Arnorian ruined town, you’ll need to lay everything out in wool first. Though Kem’s guide covers the basics of planning a project, there are some specifics I’d like to add here.

Firstly, this generator should prove very useful in coming up with a basic layout:

Once you’ve generated one you like, you can lay it out in-game with any necessary edits. Though you obviously don’t have to create a profession and purpose for every single house, it does help to imagine what certain areas and buildings might have been in order to add interesting details to them.

Secondly, if you are laying out ruins, please make sure to make the house layouts large enough:

The layout on the left of this image is too small, as its house foundations are the same size (if not smaller) than hobbit houses (shown in the centre). The layout on the right is much better, as the houses are noticeably larger. Remember that the people who lived in these houses were literally twice the height of hobbits!

City/Town Walls